Governor Announces Three Major Agency Appointments

New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo has made three major appointments to top posts in the state’s health-related agencies.  The Governor today announced that he has appointed Courtney Burke as the Deputy Secretary for the New York State Department of Health, Laurie Kelley as the Acting Commissioner of the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD), and Dr. Ann Sullivan as the Acting Commissioner of the Office of Mental Health (OMH).  The Governor’s announcement indicated that he intended to nominate both Ms. Kelley and Dr. Sullivan as Commissioners of their respective agencies in the next legislative session.

If confirmed by the Senate, Ms. Kelley would replace Ms. Burke at OPWDD, while Dr. Sullivan would replace Kristin Woodlock, the current Acting Commissioner at OMH.  Dr. Sullivan will take over at OMH in November of 2013; beginning at the end of July and until November, John Tauriello, Esq., will serve as Acting Commissioner for OMH.

The Governor’s release may be viewed here:

Caitlin Monjeau

About Caitlin Monjeau

Caitlin is an associate with our Health Law department in the Albany office. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Boston University School of Law where she served as Articles Editor for the Boston University Law Review, and is a graduate of Duke University with a major in English and minor in Political Science. Caitlin was an intern with the United States Attorney’s Office, Criminal Division in Boston, MA before joining O’Connell and Aronowitz. Her experience includes clerkships with the Office of the General Counsel at Boston University and New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, 3rd Department. She also interned with the Office of Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton. While in law school, Caitlin was honored with the Paul J. Liacos Scholar and G. Joseph Tauro Distinguished Scholar awards. She also received the Best Oralist award in the Stone Moot Court Competition in 2009, and she was the Winner and recipient of the Best Brief Award for the Sutherland Cup Moot Court Competition in 2011.